

IES Pre-Doctoral Training Program

Promoting Educational Equity at Scale

With funding from the U.S. Department of Education's Institute of Education Sciences, the Committee on Education is launching a pre-doctoral fellowship program aimed at promoting educational equity at scale. We seek ambitious candidates to develop the research skills and applied training necessary for helping narrow racial, ethnic, and socioeconomic opportunity and achievement gaps in education.

The COVID-19 pandemic has created a crisis in American education that many argue could be leveraged to remake the system. We are recruiting and training the next generation of scholars who will have the opportunity to work in partnership with Chicago Public Schools and other sites of practice to provide an evidence-based foundation to address this urgent challenge.

OVER A 5-YEAR PROGRAM, FELLOWS WILL:

- Obtain a PhD in a relevant social science discipline or from a participating professional school.
- Engage with researchers, practitioners, and policy makers at the forefront of examining and/or challenging existing educational inequities
- Participate in equity focused research-practice apprenticeships
- Complete rigorous interdisciplinary coursework
- Develop a research portfolio that includes academic papers and policy reports

FELLOWS RECEIVE GENEROUS SUPPORT:

- Full tuition waiver and \$34,000 annual stipend and fringe benefits.
- Additional funds to support travel and research related to education

WHO IS ELIGIBLE?

Prospective PhD students applying to these departments and schools:

- Department of Psychology
- Department of Economics
- Department of Political Science
- Department of Sociology
- Harris School of Public Policy
 - School of Social Service Administration
- Department of Comparative Human Development







HOW TO APPLY

- First, fill out this expression of interest form.
- Next, apply for admission to the doctoral program of one of the participating departments or professional schools.
- Finally, complete the IES Pre-Doctoral Training Program Application here.

FIELD PLACEMENT OPPORTUNITIES

Every Pre-Doctoral fellow will conduct collaborative research as part of a research team. Participating institutions and sites of practice include:

- UChicago Consortium on School Research
- UChicago Urban Labs
- UChicago Science of Learning Center
- Urban Education Institute
- Chicago Heights Public Schools
- The Geminus Center, which operates Head Start in Northwest Indiana
- Ounce of Prevention Fund: a public-private partnership with the City of Chicago's early learning system

FOR MORE INFORMATION

- To read more about this program, and to learn about our current students and alumni, go to: https://voices.uchicago.edu/coed/about-ies-2/
- To begin the process of applying for this fellowship, go to: https://apply-grad.uchicago.edu/register/COEinterest
- To learn more about the Committee on Education, go to: https://voices.uchicago.edu/coed/
- Other queries about the program can be sent to Lisa Rosen, Associate Director of the Committee on Education, at rosen@uchicago.edu

FACULTY AFFILIATED WITH THE COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION

Anjali Adukia , Harris School of Public Policy

Elaine Allensworth, Urban Education Institute

Tanika Island Childress, University of Chicago Charter School

Michael Dinerstein, Kenneth C. Griffin Department of Economics

Eve Ewing, School of Social Service Administration

Susan Goldin-Meadow, Comparative Human Development and Psychology

Deborah Gorman-Smith, School of Social Service Administration

Guanglei Hong, Comparative Human Development

Ariel Kalil, Harris School of Public Policy

Micere Keels, Comparative Human Development

Susan Levine, Comparative Human Development and Psychology

John List, Kenneth C. Griffin Department of Economics

Magne Mogstad, Kenneth C. Griffin Department of Economics

Derek Neal, Kenneth C. Griffin Department of Economics

Stephen Raudenbush, Sociology and Harris School of Public Policy

Shantá Robinson, School of Social Service Administration

Melissa Roderick, School of Social Service Administration

Lisa Rosen, Committee on Education

Margaret Beale Spencer, Comparative Human Development

Dana Suskind, Surgery and Pediatrics

Amanda Woodward, Psychology